Home  /  Workshops  /  2023 Stress Drop Validation TAG Workshop

2023 Stress Drop Validation TAG Workshop

Conveners: Rachel Abercrombie and Annemarie Baltay
Date: January 26, 2023 (09:00-16:00 Pacific Time or UTC-8) 
Location: Online - REGISTER NOW!
SCEC Award and Report: 22101

SUMMARY:  One main focus for the SCEC Technical Activity Group (TAG) for Community Stress Drop Validation workshop in Session 1 will be to move on from identifying the differences between submitted stress drop results from individual studies, to trying to identify the most important causes of these discrepancies. To do so we plan to compare, in detail, the 8 selected earthquakes (see below). 

Session 2 is dedicated to discussion time for anyone from the community to present a 1-minute lightning talk. We're looking for folks to share specific ideas for the future of this study and stress drop, as well as broader impacts. This session will be kicked off by Jamie Neely showing stress drop measurement resolutions using synthetic complex Brune sources. 
Session 3 will generate discussion on broader interest uses of stress drop outside of our direct community, with a focus on ground motion and hazards implications, as well as source physics implications, and ensure the broader community is informed about the reliability and limitations of seismological measurements, and can help guide us forward. 
As always, we will dedicate lots of time for discussion, and welcome broad community participation. 

Presentation videos and slides may be viewed by clicking the links below. PLEASE NOTE: Files are the author’s property. They may contain unpublished or preliminary information and should only be used while viewing the talk.


All times below are Pacific Standard Time (PST or UTC-8).

09:00 - 09:30 Introduction (PDF, 4.8MB) Rachel Abercrombie / Annemarie Baltay
09:30 - 11:00 Session 1: Discussion on uncertainties and trade-offs, with focus on 8 events- led by presentations from submission contributors. (combined PDF, 4.1MB)  
11:00 - 12:00 Break  
12:00 - 13:00 Session 2: Discussion and lightning talks, and ideas for future study.  
13:00 - 13:30 Break  
13:30 - 15:00 Session 3: Broader community invited talk session. Wrap up.   
15:00 Workshop Adjourns  

It is SCEC policy to foster harassment-free environments wherever our science is conducted. By accepting an invitation to participate in a SCEC-supported event, by email or online registration, participants agree to abide by the SCEC Activities Code of Conduct.


Rachel Abercrombie (Boston)
Pablo Aravena (SLU)
Ralph Archuleta (UCSB)
Gail Atkinson (Western U)
Annemarie Baltay (USGS)
Michael Barall (USGS)
Oliver Boyd (USGS)
Sara Cebry (Cornell)
Xiang Chen (GFZ)
Xiaowei Chen (Texas A&M)
Shanna Chu (USGS)
Elizabeth Cochran (USGS)
Rebecca Colquhoun (U Oxford)
Luis Dalguer (3Q-Lab)
Ahmed Elbanna (UIUC)
Bill Ellsworth (Stanford)
Wenyuan Fan (sio/ucsd)
Art Frankel (USGS)
Alice Gabriel (UCSD)
Robert Graves (USGS)
Hao Guo (U Wisconsin-Madison)
Tom Hanks (USGS, retired)
Jeanne Hardebeck (USGS)
Ruth Harris (USGS)
Behzad Hassani (BC Hydro)
Grégoire Heller (CEA)
Joanna Holmgren (U Bristol)
Yihe Huang (U Michigan)
Tran Huynh (USC/SCEC)
Chen Ji (UCSB)
Debi Kilb (Scripps, UCSD)
Brian Kilgore (USGS)
Chi-Yu King (Retired)
Trey Knudson (Stanford)
Neha Kumari (ISR, Gandhinagar)
Nadia Lapusta (Caltech)
Guoqing Lin (U Miami)
Itzhak Lior (Tel Aviv U)
David Lockner (USGS)
Martin Mai (KAUST)
Kevin Mayeda (AFTAC)
Gregory McLaskey (Cornell)
Reza-gene Milani (USGS)
Pamela Moyer (U New Hampshire)
Jamie Neely (Northwestern)
Arjun Neupane (U Tulsa)
Tara Nye (U Oregon)
Daniel Ortega-Arroyo (MIT)
Adrien Oth (ECGS)
Sunny Park (U Chicago)
Grace Parker (USGS)
Edric Pauk (USC)
Colin Pennington (LLNL)
Matteo Picozzi (U Naples)
John Rekoske (UCSD)
Hugo Sanchez (IRD)
Natalie Schaal (CSUN)
Cassandra Seltzer (MIT)
Peter Shearer (UCSD)
Jun Young Song (Cornell)
Will Steinhardt (UCSC)
Mariano Supino (INGV)
Taka'aki Taira (UC Berkeley)
Gabrielle Tepp (Caltech)
Elisa Tinti (U La Sapienza)
Ana María Tobón López (ISTerre)
Daniel Trugman (Nevada Seismo Lab)
Takahiko Uchide (GSJ, AIST)
Ian Vandevert (Scripps, UCSD)
William Walter (LLNL)
Jeremy Wong (Scripps, UCSD)
Tiange Xing (MIT)
Simone Yeager (USGS)
Clara Yoon (USGS)
Jeena Yun (Scripps, UCSD)
Yijian Zhou (UC Riverside)