Home  /  SCEC Institutions

SCEC Institutions

Apply to be a SCEC Institution

Applications should be submitted by an appropriate official (e.g. department chair or division head), and will be reviewed and approved by a majority vote of the SCEC Board of Directors.


The Southern California Earthquake Center (SCEC) is an institutionally based organization comprised of core institutions, which make a major, sustained commitment to Center objectives, and a larger number of participating institutions, which are self-nominated through the involvement of individuals or groups. SCEC institutional membership is open to organizations upon application and confirmation by the Board of Directors.

Core Institutions in SCEC allocate a minimum of $35,000 annually to support their own personnel and students in earthquake research, education and outreach, and other activities that align with the Center’s mission. Core Institutions designate an Institutional Director to serve on the Board of Directors to help lead the Center.

Participating Institutions may include any organization (including profit, non-profit, domestic, or international) involved in a Center-related research, education, or outreach activities. Participating institutions do not necessarily receive direct support from the Center. Through appropriate official, each institution appoints a qualified Institutional Representative to facilitate communication and coordination with the Center activities. The interests of participating institutions are represented on the Board of Directors by up to four Directors At-Large

Core Institutions


Participating Institutions


  • Appalachian State University
  • Arizona State University
  • Boston College
  • Boston University
  • Brown University
  • California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
  • California State University, Fresno
  • California State University, Fullerton
  • California State University, Long Beach
  • California State University, Northridge
  • California State University, Sacramento
  • California State University, San Bernardino
  • Colorado School of Mines
  • Cornell University
  • Duke University
    Earth Consultants International
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • ImageCat
  • Indiana University
  • Lettis Consultants International
  • Louisiana State University
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
  • New Mexico State University
  • North Carolina State University
  • Northern Arizona University
  • Ohio State University
  • Portland State University
  • Purdue University
  • San Jose State University
  • Smith College
  • Southern Methodist University
  • SUNY at Stony Brook
  • Texas Tech University
  • Tufts University
  • University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • University of Arizona
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Colorado, Boulder
  • University of Hawaii
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • University of Miami
  • University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • University of Nebraska
  • University of Oklahoma
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Texas El Paso
  • University of Texas Austin
  • University of Washington
  • University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Utah State University
  • Utah Valley University
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
  • Academia Sinica
  • Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada (CICESE)
  • China Earthquake Administration
  • Disaster Prevention Research Institute
  • Earthquake Research Institute
  • Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich
  • Institute for Geological and Nuclear Sciences
    Korea Institute of Geoscience and Mineral Resources (KIGAM)
  • McGill University
  • National Central University
  • National Taiwan University
  • University G. d’Annunzio
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Otago
  • Western University