Home  /  Workshops  /  SCEC Rupture Dynamics Code Validation Workshop

SCEC Rupture Dynamics Code Validation Workshop

Conveners: Ruth Harris and Ralph Archuleta
Dates: March 1, 2017
Location: SCEC Boardroom, USC, Los Angeles
SCEC Award and Report: 16184

SUMMARY: The purpose of the March 1, 2017 SCEC Rupture Dynamics Code Validation Workshop is to discuss our first foray into code validation, particularly the results of our group’s new Parkfield earthquake benchmark and to plan our next code validation steps for 2017. We will also learn about new science results in our field.  For more information about our code group and the benchmarks, please see the SCEC/USGS Spontaneous Rupture Code Verification Project website.

Presentation slides may be downloaded by clicking the links following the title. PLEASE NOTE: Files are the author’s property. They may contain unpublished or preliminary information and should only be used while viewing the talk.


09:30 - 10:00 Breakfast  
10:00 - 10:20 Introduction (PDF, 4.8MB) Ruth Harris
10:20 - 10:50 Unraveling Earthquake Dynamics with Seismol: Megathrust ruptures, off-fault plasticity and rough faults (PDF, 5.0MB) Betsy Madden
10:50 - 11:20 Meet a New Code - PyLith Brad Aagaard
11:20 - 11:50 Fault Rupture Modeling of the 2004 Parkfield Earthquake (PDF, 1.8MB) Arben Pitarka
11:50 - 12:20 Dynamic Modeling of the 2004 Mw 6.0 Parkfield Earthquake (PDF, 6.6MB) Shuo Ma
12:20 - 13:30 Lunch  
13:30 - 14:15 TPV35 - Parkfield 2004 M6 Earthquake (PDF, 1.6MB) Michael Barall
14:15 - 14:45 Seismogenic zone depth control on the likelihood of fault stepover jumps Kangchen Bai
14:45 - 15:15 Break  
15:15 - 15:45 Complex rupture process during the 2016 M7.8 Kaikoura (New Zealand) earthquake Yoshihiro Kaneko
15:45 - 17:00 Discussion and planning for code validation in 2017 All
17:30 Adjourn  


Brad Aagaard (USGS)
Sabber Ahamed (U of Memphis)
Ralph Archuleta (UCSB)
Khurram Aslam (U of Memphis)
Kangchen Bai (Caltech)
Michael Barall (Invisible Software)
Sam Bydlon (Stanford)
Luis Dalguer (Swissnuclear)
*Eric Daub (U of Memphis)
Ben Duan (Texas A&M)
*Kenneth Duru (LMU, Germany)
*Alice Gabriel (LMU, Germany)
Christine Goulet (USC)
Ruth Harris (USGS)
*Evan Hirakawa (LLNL)
Zhifeng Hu (SDSU)
Tran Huynh (USC)
Junle Jiang (UCSD)
Yoshihiro Kaneko (GNS Science)
*Yuko Kase (GSJ Japan)
Dunyu Liu (Texas A&M)
*Shuo Ma (SDSU)
*Betsy Madden (LMU, Germany)
*Shiying Nie (SDSU)
*Jack Norbeck (USGS)
*David Oglesby (UC Riverside)
Kim Olsen (SDSU)
Arben Pitarka (LLNL)
Daniel Roten (SDSU)
*Kenny Ryan (USGS)
Bill Savran (UCSD)
*Zheqiang (Sam) Shi (TMT)
Nan Wang (SDSU)
*Yongfei Wang (SDSU)
Kyle Withers (USGS)
*Stephanie Wollherr (LMU, Germany)
*Baoning Wu (UC Riverside)
Te-Yang Yeh (SDSU)

*Remote Participants