Home  /  Workshops  /  Workshop on the Processes that Control the Strength of Faults and Dynamics of Earthquakes

Workshop on the Processes that Control the Strength of Faults and Dynamics of Earthquakes


Participation: 100 people maximum, register with the 2016 SCEC Annual Meeting

Date: September 10, 2016
Time: 9:00am-5:00pm
Location: Hilton Palm Springs Resort

SCEC Award: 16288

CONVENERS: David Goldsby, Whitney Behr, Eric Dunham, and Greg Hirth

OVERVIEW: The workshop aims to take stock of where the community stands on understanding the microphysical processes associated with dynamic weakening and drive discussion of how these new constraints can improve our understanding of the earthquake rupture process. There will be three sessions, one on the mechanisms of dynamic weakening, one on spatial variations in fault resistance, and one on the evolution of the slip zone during an earthquake. We emphasize the power of combining experiments, seismic data, field observations and models in each session and hope to spark further interdisciplinary collaboration.

Presentation slides may be downloaded by clicking the title of the presentation. PLEASE NOTE: Files are the author’s property. They may contain unpublished or preliminary information and should only be used while viewing the talk.

SEPTEMBER 10, 2016

09:00-09:10 Workshop Overview and Introductions (PDF, 3.7MB) David Goldsby / Whitney Behr
  Mechanisms of coseismic weakening  
09:10-09:35 Controls on frictional strength and stability in gouge-filled faults in the seismogenic zone Chris Spiers
09:35-10:00 The role superplasticity may play during seismic slip (PDF, 7.4MB) Nicola De Paola
10:00-10:25 How coseismic weakening can be incorporated into earthquake models and linked with seismic data (PDF, 5.0MB) Rob Viesca
10:25-10:55 Group Discussion  
10:55-11:10 Break  
  Spatial Variations in fault resistance
11:10-11:35 Field measurements of fault roughness (PDF, 23.2MB) Emily Brodsky
11:35-12:00 How roughness influences the dynamics of an earthquake in numerical models (PDF, 6.5MB) Eric Dunham
12:00-13:00 Lunch  
13:00-13:25 How changes in coseismic weakening within the seismogenic zone limit the depth penetration of large earthquakes (PDF, 14.4MB) Nadia Lapusta
13:25-13:50 Earthquake source scaling (PDF, 7.4MB) Marine Denolle
13:50-14:20 Group Discussion  
14:20-14:35 Break  
  Evolution of the slip zone during an earthquake
14:35-15:00 Recent progress identifying field evidence for seismic slip (PDF, 51.6MB) Heather Savage
15:00-15:25 How dynamic stresses influence the properties of fault damage fault zones (PDF, 5.8MB) Ashley Griffith
15:25-15:50 How chemical alteration of slip surfaces can be linked to coseismic weakening mechanisms such as flash heating (PDF, 65.4MB) Jim Evans
15:50-16:20 Group Discussion  
  Where we are and whither we are tending  
16:20-17:00 Summary discussion / Wrap up (PDF, 4.4MB)  
17:20 Adjourn  



Brad Aagaard (USGS)
Kali Allison (Stanford University)
Alexis Ault (Utah State Univ)
Whitney Behr (UT Austin)
Yehuda Ben-Zion (USC)
Elizabeth Berg (University of Utah)
Gregory Beroza (Stanford University)
Quentin Bletery (U of Oregon)
Margaret Boettcher (UNH)
Krishna Borhara (Utah State University)
Emily Brodsky (UCSC)
Jaziel Cambron (CICESE)
Jean Carlson (UCSB)
Brett Carpenter (U of Oklahoma)
Camilla Cattania (Stanford University)
Yifang Cheng (USC)
Frederick Chester (TAMU)
Judith Chester (TAMU)
Shanna Chu (Stanford University)
Genevieve Coffey (LDEO)
Steven Day (SDSU)
Nicola De Paola (Durham University)
Marine Denolle (Harvard)
Matthew Dorsey (SDSU)
Roby Douilly (UC Riverside)
Eric Dunham (Stanford University)
Joshua Edgington (TAMU)
Ahmed Elbanna (UIUC)
Brittney Emmons (UCLA)
James Evans (Utah State University)
Behrooz Ferdowsi (U of Pennsylvania)
John Fletcher (CICESE)
Patrick Fulton (TAMU)
James Gaherty (LDEO)
Frantisek Gallovic (Charles Univ)
Ricardo Garza-Giron (UCSC)
Margaret Glasscoe (NASA JPL)
David Goldsby (U of Pennsylvania)
W. Griffith (U of Texas at Arlington)
Ruth Harris (USGS)
Egill Hauksson (Caltech)
Greg Hirth (Brown University)
Ann Hislop (U of Kentucky)
Heidi Houston (U of Washington)
Seokho Jeong (U of Canterbury)
Junle Jiang (SIO/UCSD)
Thomas Jordan (SCEC/USC)
Alan Juarez (USC)
Mostafa Khoshmanesh (ASU)
Hiroko Kitajima (TAMU)
Qingkai Kong (BSL)
Szu-Ting Kuo (TAMU)
Christodoulos Kyriakopoulos (UCR)
Nadia Lapusta (Caltech)
Yong-Gang Li (USC)
Zefeng Li (Georgia Tech)
Jessica Lin (UCLA)
Yen-Yu Lin (Caltech)
Bradley Lipovsky (Harvard University)
Dunyu Liu (TAMU)
Bin Luo (TAMU)
Shuo Ma (SDSU)
Paul Mai (KAUST)
Mary Mann (GRC)
Men-Andrin Meier (Caltech)
Haoran Meng (USC)
Elena Miranda (CSUN)
Pamela Moyer (U of New Hampshire)
Karl Mueller (U of Colorado)
Mohammad Nazer (U of Canterbury)
Johanna Nevitt (USGS Menlo Park)
Jack Norbeck (Stanford Univ)
Kim Olsen (SDSU)
Omero Orlandini (UCB)
Zachary Parra (TAMU)
Yajun Peng (Princeton University)
Santiago Rabade (II-UNAM)
Hannah Rabinowitz (LDEO)
Edilson Salazar Monroy (UNAM)
Jessie Saunders (SIO)
William Savran (Savran)
Shalev SIman-Tov (UCSC)
Robert Skarbek (LDEO)
Norman Sleep (Stanford U)
Mark Stirling (U of Otago)
Jessica Sutton (ASU)
Carl Swindle (UCSB)
Yuval Tal (MIT)
Christopher Thom (U of Pennsylvania)
Terry Tullis (Brown University)
Nicholas van der Elst (USGS)
Chris Van Houtte (Harvard Univ)
John Vidale (U Washington)
Robert Viesca (Tufts University)
Víctor Villaverde (CICESE)
Robert Walker (USC)
Maximilian Werner (Bristol Univ)
Nadav Wetzler (UCSC)
Sarah Wigginton (Utah State Univ)
Stephanie Wollherr (LMU Munich)
Katie Wooddell (PG&E)
Qimin Wu (Virginia Tech)
Lian Xue (UCSC)
Lingling Ye (Caltech)
Han Yue (Caltech)
Dandan Zhang (Cal Poly Pomona

Return to 2016 SCEC Annual Meeting