Home  /  Workshops  /  2011 Annual Meeting: Source Inversion Validation Workshop

2011 Annual Meeting: Source Inversion Validation Workshop

Convener: P. Martin Mai, Morgan Page, and Danijel Schorlemmer
Date: Sunday, September 11, 2011 (08:00 - 12:00)
Location: Hilton Palm Springs Resort

The 2011 Source Inversion Validation (SIV) workshop will focus on the inversion results for the first test inversion problem, which is based on a dynamic rupture for an M ~6.6 strike-slip earthquake, embedded in a layered media. Synthetics at 40 sites are to be used for the inversion, forward-prediction from the obtained model at additional 16 sites are required to help assess the quality and robustness of the solution. Additionally, we will discuss the modelers experience with the SIV-wiki and the newly created benchmarking site in order to streamline the dissemination of future exercises (data and descriptions) and the upload and automated analysis and comparison capacities of the online toolbox.
We hope that many source-modeling teams will present their results and experience with the SIV exercise. However, general contributions on recent developments for source-inversion strategies are welcome as well. We also encourage presentations on finite-fault source studies for recent well-recorded earthquakes that highlight the challenges in kinematic rupture inversions.


08:00 Introduction
08:10 Recent Developments in the SIV Portal and Its Benchmarking Tools - M. Mai
08:20 SIV Modeling Teams on Their Results for Exercise: in1_dip
(15 minutes per group)
09:20 Discussion: SIV Portal, Exercise inv1_dip, Future SIV Exercises
10:00 Break
10:15 Source Studies of the Sept. 2010 M 7.1 and Feb. 2011 M 6.3 Earthquakes in New Zealand - GNS Researchers
10:45 High Frequency Aspects of Earthquake Rupture Imaged By Back-Projection of Seismic Array Data - J.P. Ampuero
11:15 Discussion: Back-Projection Constraints for Finite-Fault Inversion, New Data for SIV Exercises
12:00 Adjourn


Brad Aagaard (USGS)
Jean Paul Ampuero (Caltech)
Bob Anderson (CEA)
John Anderson (UNR)
Joe Andrews (USGS-retired)
Ralph Archuleta (UCSB)
Greg Beroza (Stanford)
Thomas Beutin (GFZ Potsdam)
Jacobo Bielak (CMU)
Mike Blanpied (USGS)
Brendon Bradley (U of Canterbury)
Justin Brown (Stanford)
Amber Butcher (Cal Poly Pomona)
Alexander Bykovtsev (RANS)
Kevin Chao (Georgia Tech)
Raymond Chen (UCLA)
Paul Cox (UCLA)
Jorge Crempien (UCSB)
Hugo Cruz Jimenez (KAUST)
Trevor Currie (Caltech)
Lindsey Davidge (USC)
Marine Denolle (Stanford)
Luis Dominguez (UCLA)
Jessica Donovan (USC)
Ahmed Elbanna (UCSB)
Bill Ellsworth (USGS)
Geoffrey Ely (Argonne National Lab)
Eileen Evans (Harvard)
Frantisek Gallovic (Charles U, Prague)
Rebecca Greenwood (CPP)
Tomohiro Hakamata (UCSB)
Audra Hanks (Cal Poly Pomona)
Ruth Harris (USGS)
Egill Hauksson (Caltech)
Don Helmberger (Caltech)
Caroline Holden (GNS Science)
Dan Hollis (NodalSeismic)
Yihe Huang (Caltech)
Kazutoshi Imanishi (GS Japan)
Chen Ji (UCSB)
Andrea Jones (USC)
Tom Jordan (SCEC/USC)
Tyler Kent (UNR)
Hyun-Tae Kim (ASU)
Ittai Kurzon (UCSD)
Nadia Lapusta (Caltech)
Daniel Lavallee (UCSB)
Xiangyu Li (UCSB)
Charles Lieou (UCSB)
Susana Lino (Cal Poly Pomona)
Zaifeng Liu (TAMU)
Masha Liukis (SCEC/USC)
Rowena Lohman (Cornell)
Julian Lozos (UCR)
Yingdi Luo (Caltech)
Shuo Ma (SDSU)
Martin Mai (KAUST)
Lance Mak (PCC)
Robert F. Mason (PCC)
Lingsen Meng (Caltech)
Bernard Minster (UCSD)
Ramses Mourhatch (Caltech)
Kaliymah Muhammad (CSUSB)
Kim Olsen (SDSU)
Morgan Page (USGS)
Sulaimon Paseda (Howard)
Christian Pelties (LMU Munich)
Arben Pitarka (URS)
Moises Ponce-Zepeda (ELAC)
Ernesto E. Prudencio (UT Austin)
David Rodriguez-Castro (PRM)
Vito Rubino (Caltech)
Tsu Sato (ASU)
William Savran (UNR)
Danijel Schorlemmer (USC/GFZ)
Margarita Segou (USGS)
Guangfu Shao (UCSB)
Hemanth Siriki (Caltech)
Surendra Somala (Caltech)
Paul Somerville (URS)
Seok Goo Song (ETHZ)
Anne Strader (UCLA)
Igor Stubailo (UCLA)
Carl Symcox (Dartmouth)
Katharine Turkle (USGS)
Takahiko Uchide (UCSD)
Christina Valen (UCSD)
Swetha Veeraraghavan (Caltech)
Enning Wang (Princeton)
Shengji Wei (Caltech)
Kyle Withers (SDSU)
Victor Manuel Wong-Ortega (CICESE)
Eric Xu (UCLA)
Tomoko Yano (UCSB)
Huajian Yao (Scripps/USCD)
Lingling Ye (UCSC)
Yuehua Zeng (USGS)
Zhongwen Zhan (Caltech)

Return to 2011 SCEC Annual Meeting