2022 SCEC Community Honors and Awards

Tran Huynh received the 2022 USC Dornsife College Outstanding Staff Achievement Award

Each year members of the SCEC Community are recognized with major awards and honors. This page is a collection of these recognitions announced or bestowed throughout 2022.  

Congratulations to everyone!  

If you, or others you know, should be included on the following list, please email award information to benthien@usc.edu.


Yehuda Ben-Zion (USC) received the Beno Gutenberg Medal from the European Geosciences Union.  
Greg Beroza (Stanford) was elected to the National Academy of Sciences 
Emily Brodsky (UC Santa Cruz) received the Nemmers Prize in Earth Sciences from Northwestern University 
CB Crouse (AECOM) was awarded the Bruce Bolt Medal by COSMOS/SSA/EERI
Bill Ellsworth (Stanford) received the Reid Medal from the Seismological Society of America
Wenyuan Fan (UCSD) received the Keiiti Aki Early Career Award from the American Geophysical Union and a NSF CAREER award
Ruth Harris (USGS) is currently the President-Elect of the Seismological Society of America, serving a 3-year term 
Tran Huynh (USC) received the Outstanding Staff Achievement Award from USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences.
Diego Melgar (Oregon) received the John Wahr Early Career Award from the American Geophysical Union
S. Mostafa Mousavi (Stanford) received the Charles F. Richter Early-Career Award from the Seismological Society of America
Zhigang Peng (Georgia Tech) received the Distinguished Service Award from the Seismological Society of America
Zachary Ross (Caltech) received the Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering from the David and Lucile Packard Foundation.
Vanshan Wright (UCSD) received the Science and Society Team Award from the American Geophysical Union
Mark Benthien (USC) received the Award of Excellence from the Business and Industry Council for Emergency Planning and Preparedness